If you have a child under the age of 21 who drives, or you are a young driver, you need to understand the laws that are in place with respect to underage drunk driving. Every year, many young drivers face serious repercussions as a result of DUI charges, some of whom had no idea that even a minute amount of alcohol in their system could result in serious penalties.
From losing the ability to drive to paying steep fines and spending time in prison, these allegations are very serious.
Pennsylvania’s Zero Tolerance Law on underage drunk driving
According to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, drivers under the age of 21 who have any amount of alcohol in their system cannot legally operate a vehicle. If a law enforcement official stops a driver and finds that their BAC level is .02 or higher, the driver could face drunk driving charges, which bring serious repercussions.
In fact, those under 21 can lose their ability to drive if caught with alcohol in any situation, regardless of whether they are driving or riding in a vehicle.
Going over the penalties for underage drunk driving
If you are under 21 and a law enforcement official finds that your BAC level is .02 or higher while driving, you could have your license suspended for 12 to 18 months. Moreover, you could have to spend up to six months behind bars and face up to $5,000 in fines. In Pennsylvania, underage DUI charges turn the lives of those dealing with a case upside down in different ways and you need to approach these charges carefully.